Oregon Safety Laws 2012 flier
Safety Belts - effective November 1990
All motor vehicle operators and passengers must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness, unless all safety-belt equipped seating positions are occupied by other persons.
Life Jackets – effective in 1998
No person shall operate a boat on Oregon waters with a child age 12 and under unless the child is wearing a U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device (PFD)/life jacket of the appropriate size while the boat is underway.
Cribs – Oregon Law effective July 6, 2001, Federal requirements effective June 28, 2011
Prohibits selling a crib at a garage sale, estate sale, or second hand store that does not meet the safety standards established in House Bill 3962 and in ORS 646A.506. Federal requirements prohibit drop-side cribs, requires stronger wood slats, hardware must have anti-loosening devices and mattress support must be more durable.
Smoke Alarms – effective Jan 1, 2002
Ionization smoke alarms that are solely battery-operated shall be packaged with a 10-year battery. All ionization smoke alarms shall include a “hush” mechanism that allows a person to temporarily disengage the alarm for no more than 15 minutes.
Pick-up Trucks – effective November 2003
Children under 18 years of age are prohibited from riding in the open bed of a pick-up truck.
Bicycle Helmets – effective on July 1, 1994
Any youth under age 16 riding a bike or when a passenger on a bike in any public place (streets, roads, sidewalks, parks, etc.) must wear bicycle helmets labeled ANSI and/or Snell approved.
Safety Helmets – effective January 1, 2004
Any youth under age 16 riding on skateboards, scooters, and in-line skates in any public place (streets, roads, sidewalks, parks, etc.)must wear a safety helmet labeled ANSI and/or Snell approved.
Child Restraints – last revision January 1, 2011
Children must be restrained in an approved child safety seat until they weigh 40 pounds. Infants must ride rear-facing until they reach both one year of age and over 20 pounds. Child passengers over 40 pounds or who reach the upper weight limit of their car seat’s harness system, must be restrained in a booster seat until they are 4’9″ or 8 years of age.
ATVs – effective January. 1, 2008, additional training required in 2012
Anyone under the age of 16 operating an ATV is required to be supervised by an adult over the age of 18. Also, anyone under the age of 18 must wear a helmet and have the chin strap fastened. Youth are required to have on-line safety training and hands-on rider training.
Novelty Lighters – effective June, 2009
Prohibits selling or distributing novelty (toylike) lighters in Oregon.
Carbon Monoxide Alarms – effective June 25, 2009
Prohibits transferring title to one and two family dwelling or multifamily housing that has carbon monoxide source unless dwelling or housing is equipped with carbon monoxide alarm.
Cell Phone and Text Messaging – effective January 1, 2012
Prohibits texting and use of handheld cell phones for all drivers with the exception of police, emergency responders and drivers in emergency situations. Novice drivers are prohibited from all cell phone use while driving.