Motor Vehicle Occupant Safety
In 2014, safety belt usage by drivers in Oregon was 97.8%, the highest in the nation. Child safety seat use by children under 4 years of age was 99% and by children ages 4 to 8 years use was at 88%. However, between 2012 – 2014 for children ages 0 – 14 years old, there were 15 children killed and 105 children hospitalized from motor vehicle occupant crashes.
Even more disturbing is that during this same time for youth ages 15 – 19 years old, there were 39 fatalities and 284 hospitalizations from motor vehicle occupant crashes!
Safe Kids Facts and Research
Buckle Up: Booster Seats is a new research report released in September, 2014 of 1,000 parents of kids ages 4 to 10 about their booster seat use. The study revealed that an alarming number of parents are allowing kids to use seat belts alone before they are big enough.
Oregon Child Passenger Safety Training
There are currently over 460 certified Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Technicians in Oregon. National certification courses for people interested in becoming a Child Passenger Safety Technician are now scheduled for 2015. Continuing education classes and the CPS Technician Renewal Class are also scheduled. CPS Training Calendar
Child Passenger Safety Resources
To find a child safety seat checkup event in Oregon, visit Oregon Impact.
ODOT Transportation Safety Division – Occupant Protection – click on Child Passenger Safety Information.
Parents Central from Car Seats to Car Keys: Keeping Kids Safe
Parent Central is a gateway to information and resources for keeping kids safe when they are on the move. This site has answers to the most common questions – whether buying the first car seat or handing a teen their first set of car keys.
Cell Phone and Text Messaging – Prohibits texting and use of handheld cell phones for all drivers with the exception of police, emergency responders and drivers in emergency situations. Novice drivers are prohibited from all cell phone use.
Child Restraints – Children must be restrained in an approved child safety seat until they weigh 40 pounds. Infants must ride rear-facing until they are one year of age and over 20 pounds. Child passengers over 40 pounds or who reach the upper weight limit of their car seat’s harness system, must be restrained in a booster seat until they are 4’9″ tall or 8 years of age.
Pick-Up Trucks – Children under 18 years of age are prohibited from riding in the open bed of a pick-up truck.
Safety Belts – All motor vehicle operators and passengers must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness, unless all safety-belt equipped seating positions are occupied by other persons.
Teen Driving Laws – Click here for a flier describing Oregon’s provisional license (or GDL*) law.